web tracker

Sanga named President of MCC

Former national cricket captain Kumar Sangakkara was today (01) declared as the next President of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), becoming the first non-British to hold the post in the MCC’s history.

His one-year term will begin on October 1 and his recommendation was announced by the current President Anthony Wreford at the MCC Annual General meeting today.

Sangakkara was summoned to convey the MCC Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey Lecture in 2011 and was awarded Honorary Life Membership of the Club the following year. The same year, he joined MCC’s World Cricket committee and remains an active member.

He was also granted with the honor of ringing the bell at Lords at the start of 2016 Test between Sri Lanka and England.

Sangakkara has said it was a huge honor to be named the next President of MCC and it is a role that he was comprehensively looking forward to.

Facebook Comments
error: Content is protected !!